The Electronic Sports Federation of India (ESFI) on Tuesday announced an 18-member Indian squad for the upcoming Asian Games where the sport will make its debut. The team was chosen after eight days of competition in the ESFI National Esports Championship.

Esports was a demonstration sport at the 2018 Asian Games, but it will be a medal-winning sport at the Hangzhou Games from September 10-25.

Medals will be awarded in eight matches in Hangzhou — FIFA22, PUBG Mobile, Arena of Valor, Dota 2, League of Legends, Dream Three Kingdoms 2, HearthStone and Street Fighter V. But, India will only take part in five matches — FIFA22, Dota 2, League of Legends, HearthStone and Street Fighter V. PUBG Mobile and Arena of Valor are banned in India, while there are not enough teams to compete in Dream Three Kingdoms 2.

Read also :

The winners of all five games as well as runners-up from the single-player titles – FIFA22, Street Fighter V and Hearthstone – have been selected to represent the country at the Asian Games.

The teams

FIFA22: Charanjot Singh and Karman Singh Tikka. Street Fighter V: Mayank Prajapati and Ayan Biswas.

Foyer: Shikhar Choudhary and Karthik Varma.

League of Legends: Temple of Kings team (Akshaj Shenoy, Samarth Trivedi, Mihir Ranjan, Aditya Selvaraj, Aakash Shandilya and Sanindhya Malik).

DOTA 2: Team Whoops (Moin Ejaz, Krish, Abhishek, Ketan, Darshan and Shubham).

(Edited by : Anand Singha)