Poker Sports League, after a very successful launch of the inaugural season, is targeting two more teams to boost the action of season two.

The second season of the Poker Sports League is set to take the action to the next level. The brainchild of Amit Burman, Anuj Gupta and Pranav Bagai, the sports poker league at its heart, attempts to popularize poker as a sport by exhibiting in abundance, a combination of skills, mathematics, decision making and courage that are needed in the right mix to emerge as a champion.

“We realize that poker is growing exponentially in India. We are opening two teams to bid to give all poker enthusiasts across the country the opportunity to be a part of this fantastic growth story. Interested parties are encouraged to contact me through the Poker Sports League website. I would like to thank Amit Burman for his vision and continued support. Also, Anuj Gupta, who tirelessly mentored me and was involved in the operational decisions that helped make the PSL dream come true, ”said Pranav Bagai, CEO, Co-Founder, Poker Sports League.

Following the great success of its inaugural season earlier this year, which saw Delhi Panthers, owned by Rishi Kajaria of Kajaria Ceramics, rise from seventh place to the top of the charts and ultimately win INR 1.5 crore as a cash prize, the Poker Sports League this year is expected to raise the stakes in all its aspects. While the inaugural edition featured international players from 11 countries and drew an incredible 4.1 million viewers on Facebook Live, the second season will see 12 teams of ten players each compete against each other in a mind game, indicates a press release.

Commenting on the advent of the second season, Mr. Amit Burman, Founder of the Poker Sports League said: “The first season was just a trailer for what is set to become the first and only league. credible poker game designed entirely in India. We got a big response from aspiring players and businesses last season and we’re happy to see that the interest has only grown. From the second season, the team owners committed to an eight-year association, which is a testament to the maturity of the league. As we move forward, every aspect of the league will benefit from an upgrade that ultimately translates into a superior experience for all stakeholders. “

With a commitment of 150 crore spread over eight years, ten team owners are poised to stay the course and partner with the league on their journey to establish the sport of poker in India, with the remaining two teams open for auction. . The prize pool this year is INR 3.6 crore and the league will run with online and live qualifiers starting in December, leading up to the team’s final selection in April 2018. The grand final will be held in Goa in May.

“The second season will firmly establish the Poker Sports League as an annual property with significant anticipation among poker enthusiasts. With the emergence of massive online poker tournaments and fantastic leagues, the time has come for the Poker Sports League to formalize the history of poker in India. With over twenty thousand qualifying entries across India in the first year, it’s safe to guess the potential of poker in the country. PSL is sort of laying the groundwork for an international tournament and has the right ingredients to become a global brand. PSL complements India’s growing poker ecosystem, ”added Anuj Gupta, Co-Founder of the Poker Sports League.

This year’s 12 teams will consist of a total of ten players each, including a mentor and captain, two pro players, two free live qualifiers, three free online qualifiers and two wild card entries. Each team will bring together professionals and amateurs and will include the transmission of knowledge and skills to the youngest. While the first season saw 140 players being drafted, this year with three draftings, nearly 170 players may be eligible to participate.

BENGALURU WARRIORS, owned by Ajoy Khandheria, Anurag Malhotra, Rajiv Ahuja, Amitabh Nagpal; DELHI PANTHERS by Rishi Kajaria of Kajaria Ceramics; Ruchirans Jaipuria from the Jaipuria group; Abhishek Jain of Leela Jewels; Gaurav Goel of Dhampur Sugar; GOAN NUTS by Gaurav Mohan from Eventwala, Ravi Goel, Sagar Gogia, Gaurav Verma from New Era Solution Pvt Ltd; GUJARAT ACERS by Ronak Vyas from the Famingo group; Harish Bahl, Manish Vij and Gopikaa Davar of the Smile Group; Mukesh Agarwal of VITWO LLP; HARYANA HUNTERS by Divij Talwar and Adnan Kidwai; : Anil Singh of Procam Sports, Mohit Burman of Kings XI Punjab, Anupam Mittal of KOLKATA ROYALS belonging to; MUMBAI ANCHORS by Mehul Shah (original promoter of Anchor Electrical); PUNE SHARKS, owned by Rishabh Jhunjhunwala of the Bhilwara group; Shamit Khemka from Synapse India; Chetan Kajaria of Kajaria Ceramics and Sachin Goel; PUNJAB BLUFFERS of Vedant Thadani & Co. and RAJASTHAN TILTERS, owned by Purrshottam Bhaggeria of Filatex Group; were the 10 teams in the league’s inaugural year.
This year, the plan also includes broadcasting the league on television other than online, to reach a much larger audience.

About The Author

Related Posts