Higher Education Commission (CET) Pakistan Sports Director Javed Ali Memon says Sir Syed University of Engineering and Technology (SUET) will host the Premier’s Youth Program Hockey Event-Talent Hunt Youth Sports League for Girls and Boys. Sir Syed University Sports Director Mubbashir Mukhtar will be the national coordinator for this event.

In this context, the Director of Sports HEC, Engr Javed Ali Memon chaired a meeting at Sir Syed Universities with the Directors of Sports of the various universities and the Directors of Physical Education of the colleges.

Hockey Olympian Hanif Khan and Convener Sports Sir Syed University, Qazi Nasar specially attended the meeting, beside them Basit Ansari and Rashid Qureshi from University of Karachi (KU), Azmat Pasha from Tabani College, Shaheen Fatima, Rafat Jahan and Majda Hameed, Junaid Khan from Lasbela University and representatives from 36 universities and colleges also physically attended the meeting while athletic directors from several universities from other cities joined online. Mr Javed said the aim of Prime Minister Talent Hunt’s Youth Sports League is to promote national sports and highlight the importance of sport in educational institutions.

Sindh trials will start from August 15, 2022.

Javed Ali Memon said players between the ages of 15 and 25 will be eligible to take part in the trials. There will be 25 different regions of the country where the trials will be conducted, so players at the base level can be part of the trials under this plan. After selecting five teams from the province, the championship will be held at the provincial level first, then the final round will be held in which one team from each province will be in the final round and the final round will be played on league basis unique.

He said hockey trials will be held at the following locations, Karachi, Hyderabad, Larkana, Shaheed Benazirabad and Sukkur in Sindh province. Dera Murad Jamali/Sabi/Turbat, Khuzdar, Othal, Hub, Quetta and Laura Lai in Balochistan Province.

Federation, Azad Kashmir and Gilgit-Baltistan includes Mirpur, Islamabad, Gilgit, Muzaffarabad and Skardu. Similarly, Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Province includes Bannu, Swat, Peshawar, Hazara, Mardan while Rawalpindi, Sialkot, Faisalabad, Lahore and Bahawalpur/Multan will be the localities of Punjab.

At the end of the meeting, University Registrar Sir Syed Syed Sarfraz Ali thanked all the guests especially Javed Ali Memon Sahib on behalf of Chancellor Javed Anwar and assured him of SSUET’s full cooperation in organizing the League of youth sports.

Related: SSUET Hosted Traffic Awareness Seminar