It’s been another remarkable year in women’s sports and we want to know who you think should be the Sky Sports Women’s Sports Team of the Year.

The team award, sponsored by Sky Sports, is just one of the 2021 Sunday Times Sportswomen of the Year Awards in association with Sky Sports, which the public can vote on.

The nominees in the tag team category are WSL and Champions League finalists Chelsea Women FC and England Netball, who claimed their first series victory against the current world champions in New Zealand.

The European Solheim Cup team, which backed up their spectacular 2019 victory at Gleneagles with an impressive victory on American soil in Toledo earlier this year, are also nominated.

The Tokyo Olympics offer two possible options for the votes, with Hannah Mills and Eilidh McIntyre winning gold in sailing and in doing so made Mills the most successful Olympic sailor in history, as well as Laura Kenny and Katie Archibald, who won cycling gold in Japan with an incredible performance at Madison, bringing Kenny’s personal total to 12 Olympic gold medals.

The final contenders are the Oval Invincibles, winners of the inaugural Hundred competition this summer, beating the favorites Southern Brave in emphatic style with a 48-point victory in the final.

The public can vote for their winners via Voting is open until 11:59 p.m. on Wednesday, November 17.

Jonathan Licht, CEO of Sky Sports, said: “It is more important than ever after the pandemic to celebrate the phenomenal progress and achievements in women’s sport.

“We have seen some amazing moments throughout the year, not only in women’s sport, but also in the contribution of these nominees to sport in general, from the success of The Hundred to the extraordinary story of Emma Raducanu who has moved the nation. Sky Sports is happy to play a part in celebrating these amazing women. “

Rebecca Myers, reporter for the Sunday Times and senior reporter for the Sportswomen of the Year awards, said:

“It was a revolutionary year for women’s sport, from athletes who made history and broken new records in the Olympic and Paralympic Games, to the historic success of the Hundred and the new women’s Super League broadcast contract.

“Unsurprisingly, the nominations for this year’s SWOTY awards were among the strongest we’ve ever seen and we’re excited to announce such stellar lists for 2021.”

Full list of The Sunday Times Sportswoman of the Year 2021 awards and nominees

The ultimate reward for your favorite sportswoman this year

Gallery: Stars glamorize for Asian Media Awards in scintillating ceremony at Trafford (Manchester Evening News)

The award for best program went to “My God, I'm Queer,” a Behind The Facade Films production for Channel 4. The program follows the journey of a grieving fiancé who embarks on a deeply personal journey in an attempt to 'prevent a future tragedy.

Emily Campbell, weightliftingKate French, modern pentathlonLaura Kenny, cyclingLauren Price, boxingEmma Raducanu, tennisSarah Storey, cycling

Young sportswoman of the year

Applicants must be 21 years of age or younger by January 1, 2021

Zoe Backstedt, cyclingSky Brown, skateboardAlice Capsey, cricketKeely Hodgkinson, athleticsBethany Shriever, BMXMaisie Summers-Newton, swimming

Disabled Sportswoman of the Year

The exceptional performer in a sport for people with disabilities

Hannah Cockroft, athletics Kadeena Cox, cycling and athletics Bethany Firth, swimming Phoebe Paterson Pine, archery British para-canoes Emma Wiggs, Charlotte Henshaw and Laura Sugar

Sky Sports Team of the Year

Celebrating the achievements of Britain’s successful collective efforts

Chelsea Women FCEngland NetballEurope’s Solheim Cup teamHannah Mills and Eilidh McIntyreLaura Kenny and Katie ArchibaldOval Invincibles

Changemaker Award

Celebrating those who inspired others and used their platforms to create changeSue AnstissAlice DearingDr Emma RossAnita White

Base price

For people who have actively engaged with different groups of people within their community through sport

Salma Bi, cricketBetty Codona, basketballClova Court, athleticsHasina Rahman, martial arts

The Helen Rollason Award for Inspiration

Recognition of Inspirational Effort in Honor of the Late Sports Presenter Helen Rollason The winner of this award will be revealed during the live awards ceremony on Thursday, November 25.

The public can vote for their winners via

Voting is open until 11:59 p.m. on Wednesday November 17

Source link